Elvin Link, Please Report to the Principal's Office! (Hardcover)

Elvin Link, Please Report to the Principal's Office! Cover Image
By Drew Dernavich, Drew Dernavich (Illustrator)
$16.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Meet an irrepressible kid doodler-turned-sketch artist, in this breakout illustrated diary fiction mystery from Drew Dernavich, Elvin Link, Please Report to the Principal's Office.

Meet Elvin Link—slacker, notorious doodler, and the only kid in fifth grade who hasn't (yet) received a wedgie from the school bully Peter Zorber. Can Elvin navigate the last few weeks of school without getting into trouble for his incessant doodling? How will he steer clear of the class wedgie-master? And is it possible to turn a hobby into a crime fighting skill and solve a school mystery? Elvin Link is about to find out all the answers, and he'll do it with a flip disc in one hand and a bottle of hot sauce in the other!

Christy Ottaviano Books

About the Author


Drew Dernavich is a regular cartoonist for the New Yorker magazine, and the recipient of a National Cartoonists Society award. His cartoons have also appeared in many publications including TIME, the Wall Street Journal, Harvard Business Review, the Boston Globe, and the comics anthology Flight. He lives in New York City.

Drew Dernavich is a regular cartoonist for the New Yorker magazine, and the recipient of a National Cartoonists Society award. His cartoons have also appeared in many publications including TIME, the Wall Street Journal, Harvard Business Review, the Boston Globe, and the comics anthology Flight. He lives in New York City.

Praise For…


"Fans of “The Strange Case of Origami Yoda” and “Diary of a Wimpy Kid” will appreciate Dernavich’s hilarious doodles, sight gags and silly asides, including his renderings of Elvin’s favorite expletive: “Turdmuffins.” There is more text here than in the typical graphic novel, but the story moves quickly, and the deadpan illustrations will make you laugh out loud." --The New York Times

A Junior Library Guild Selection

"The skillful and expressive art, drawn in bold, fluid lines, appears on almost every page and captures Elvin’s creativity, imagination, and taste for gross-out humor. . . this book contains plenty of laughs and school angst for fans of Jeff ­Kinney’s “Wimpy Kid” series." --School Library Journal

"Readers who prefer their heavily illustrated and wisecrack-laden accounts of pranks and mishaps on the sweeter side will be pleased to see Elvin, being no Greg Heffley, magnanimously mending fences with his remorseful nemesis at the end of this gentle mystery." --Booklist

"
The frequent cartoon illustrations are full of humor, spunk, and occasional references to turdmuffins and underwear. . . A good-natured illustrated story to warm the hearts of misunderstood boys and their friends." --Kirkus Reviews



Product Details
ISBN: 9781627792097
ISBN-10: 1627792090
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR)
Publication Date: July 21st, 2020
Pages: 224